Fleur de “Brees!”

Seems only fitting, as I sit and watch the Saints play football, that I share my Fleur de “Bree’s” recipe! On any other day I call it Fleur de Brie, but today this recipe is a tribute to the Saint’s quarterback, Drew Brees! Am hoping they win and then you will be able to have this recipe at your next Saints SOIREE! First I use a cake pan that I bought on Amazon. PANTASTIC CAKE PAN FLEUR DE LIS

 The pan makes the Fleur de lis pastry come out impeccably sleek and makes quite a presentation!

Recipe:

1 package of pepperidge farm puff pastry thawed

1 round package of Brie cheese cut into small cubes

praline sauce: 3/4 cup white corn syrup, 1 1/2 cup brown sugar, 4 TBSP. Butter, a 5.3 oz can of evaporated milk, 3/4 cup chopped pecans. Combine syrup, butter and sugar and heat to a boil. Remove  and cool, when lukewarm add milk and pecans, blend and refrigerate until cool.

Spray the cake pan with a nonstick spray and press a sheet of puff pastry into the pan forming up along the sides of the pan.

Evenly space the cubed brie on top of pressed in pastry. Pour the cooled praline sauce over the brie and then place the other pastry on top of praline sauce/cheese. Trim pastry around edges to take on the shape of the brie. Press and seal edges. Bake in a preheated oven @ 375 until golden brown. Remove from oven, let stand and cool a little while. Take your serving platter and place over the pan and then in one fluid motion, flip it and VOILA~ Fleur de “Brees”!  Serve with crackers and prepare to moan and groan! 

About thedivaofdiy

There's a country song by Terri Clark called "I WANNA Do IT ALL"! Well that is me, folks! I am never content with just ONE project, I wanna try em ALL! I am a hairdresser by trade, a wife and mother of 8! Yes, I said 8! Birthed em all myself! I have a few creative bones in my body, am always thinking of what I can do next. If I see something I like, I won't buy it, I will, instead, try to duplicate it! I have made stained glass, reupholstered furniture, faux painted, sewed, do interior decorating, you name it, I wanna do it! I am an AVID couponer (HATE paying full price for anything!), teach a couponing class and appear on our local tv station's morning show on a MONEY SAVING segment, I am a BREAST CANCER SURVIVIOR, and embrace every minute of my wonderful life!
This entry was posted in appetizers, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fleur de “Brees!”

  1. Rachel says:

    I am TOTALLY going to try this 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    i would love to get this cake pan for use with my son’s boy scout troop… how awesome !!! I never knew they were even made !

Leave a Reply

