Ruffly Fleece Flower Scarf~

I spotted a scarf similar to this one on pinterest, so I decided to change it up a little and use fleece instead of felt. You can adapt this pattern for a child by making smaller circles and shortening the length of the strip of fleece! You will need about 3/4 yard of fleece. I got mine on sale at JoAnn Fabrics. Use your imagination and mix up the colors in the flowers if desired or use fleece with a print. Scroll down for a picture tutorial, as well as directions.

1. First cut out your 6 paper circle patterns ranging from 5 to 2  1/2 inches. Refer to picture to determine good increments of sizes.

2. Cut your fleece strip 4 1/2 inches wide and 42 inches long. You can always cut it shorter at the end if need be.

3. Pin your patterns to the fleece and cut 10 of each size. (this will make ten flowers to apply to the scarf ) You can layer the fleece into 4 layers to cut each pattern, more than that will really be too thick to cut through. You can scallop the edges if you like, but I found that to be very time consuming without a BIG difference in outcome.

4. Waste not, want not! Use the diamond shaped scraps to cut the smallest circles, to avoid any waste.

5. Stack the FIVE largest circles, ( in other words, circles 1-5)  right side up.

6. Make a stitch about 1/2 to 3/4 inch wide, through and through the 5 circles, pulling tight to pucker up the flower, repeating a few times, then criss cross the stitch and pucker again. Tie a knot to secure.

7. Take the smallest 6th circle and fold in quarters, then stitch the base of the triangle to make the insert of the flower and stitch in the middle of the flower.

8. Attach the flower to the end of the scarf base by sewing it in 3 or 4 places around the flower, about 3/4 inch from the edge, going though at least the 2 bottom layers. It helps create dimension when you  slightly pleat or pucker the flower when stitching it to the scarf.

9. Trim around the scarf end into the contour of the round flower.

10. Continue to sew on flowers, slightly overlapping them, because the fleece will eventually stretch out creating gaps. You may have some excess of the scarf base to cut off after your flowers are in place.

11. After the flowers are all sewed in place, lay the scarf out on a flat surface and cut along the sides of the scarf base, cutting in curves where the flowers join. Refer to picture of back side of scarf to see the contour cuts.

12. VOILA! A soft, cozy beautiful scarf! Be prepared for many compliments!




About thedivaofdiy

There's a country song by Terri Clark called "I WANNA Do IT ALL"! Well that is me, folks! I am never content with just ONE project, I wanna try em ALL! I am a hairdresser by trade, a wife and mother of 8! Yes, I said 8! Birthed em all myself! I have a few creative bones in my body, am always thinking of what I can do next. If I see something I like, I won't buy it, I will, instead, try to duplicate it! I have made stained glass, reupholstered furniture, faux painted, sewed, do interior decorating, you name it, I wanna do it! I am an AVID couponer (HATE paying full price for anything!), teach a couponing class and appear on our local tv station's morning show on a MONEY SAVING segment, I am a BREAST CANCER SURVIVIOR, and embrace every minute of my wonderful life!
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

