Frugal Living: putting together an effective coupon binder

Money??? We always need it! As a mom of EIGHT kids, (yes I gave birth to all of them!)  I am always looking for ways to stretch a dollar. After  overextending  ourselves into nasty credit card debt, my oldest son introduced me to the financial guru, Dave Ramsey!  (You can check that out here:) 
I started to take a look at ways to cut our spending and live within our financial means! NOT EASY, with a large family, much less even a small one! Things were looking up and as of this past September our credit card debt is paid off and we had even built up a nice chunk of change into savings! 🙂 During those few years that it took to do that, unfortunately, I was diagnosed with breast cancer…womp, womp! We took a hit financially on that little curve ball! During the throws of chemo, there were days that I couldn’t physically muster the energy to work in my salon, therefore the sweet savings that we had finally accrued once again diminished! Dang, that cancer! Am all well today, three years cancer free, and getting back on track financially!

Which leads me to my couponing story. I began my quest for couponing after watching the extreme couponers on TV build stockpiles of laundry soap and sports drinks! lol! now don’t get me wrong, I am not a hoarder, but I have mastered the art of making coupons work and saving a poopload full of money! I have a facebook page (go LIKE me when you get a chance) called THE CAJUN COUPON DIVA  and I also appear regularly on our local ABC affiliate to do a money saving segment.

The coupon binder is VITAL for successful couponing, so I thought I would share what is needed to put one together.

1. Get a 3 inch ring binder. (I just got the Avery white ones at Walmart, but a heavy duty one is HIGHLY recommended) I added a piece of gift wrap to the insert in front of mine (scrapbook paper would work!) then glued on  a monogram printed from my computer. The plain white deal just wouldn’t cut it!

2. I insert a zippered pouch to hold scissors, reward cards, and catalinas.

3. Use Avery page protectors for the divider category sheets, (you will need at least 40 of those) and trading card divider sheets for storing coupons! (You will need about 80 or more of those). I usually just get the pack of 100 in the Ultra Pro Series, because they are very durable.  Both are available at

a great price on Amazon. Just click the picture and get

started right away!

4. Make a table of contents for your first page. Then if need be, print coupon store policies and keep them in a protector. (there is always gonna be a snippy cashier, which you can set straight when you whip out you STORE policy!)

5. Place trading card protectors between each category page and gauge how many for each category. For instance, the PRODUCE section only needs one…very few produce coupons, :(, but the snack and shaving/deodorant categories need 3 or 4!

6. Label and attach tabs on each category page for quicker access!

7. TIME SAVING TIPS: When clipping multiple copies of coupons, (usually need 4-6 copies of Sunday inserts) stack the pages in “LIKE” stacks, then clip all of one kind, in one cut! Place coupons in binder categories AS YOU CUT!

 

Now you are ready to set out on your coupon adventure! Click on the polka dot binder picture and view a slideshow of a picture tutorial of the binder:

About thedivaofdiy

There's a country song by Terri Clark called "I WANNA Do IT ALL"! Well that is me, folks! I am never content with just ONE project, I wanna try em ALL! I am a hairdresser by trade, a wife and mother of 8! Yes, I said 8! Birthed em all myself! I have a few creative bones in my body, am always thinking of what I can do next. If I see something I like, I won't buy it, I will, instead, try to duplicate it! I have made stained glass, reupholstered furniture, faux painted, sewed, do interior decorating, you name it, I wanna do it! I am an AVID couponer (HATE paying full price for anything!), teach a couponing class and appear on our local tv station's morning show on a MONEY SAVING segment, I am a BREAST CANCER SURVIVIOR, and embrace every minute of my wonderful life!
This entry was posted in Coupons. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frugal Living: putting together an effective coupon binder

  1. I could use,all the coupon,help I could get ! My husband past,away Sep.13,2011 ! God Bless

    • thedivaofdiy says:

      Julie, if you are near Lafayette, La, then try to make it to one of my classes! It would help you so much. Am sorry to hear about your husband.That must be such a challenge in every way! call me if you have any questions! 337-224-1611

  2. Cindy Troutman says:

    I would like to know where you got the store policies of each store. My friend and I are interested in that. Where do you hold your classes?

    • thedivaofdiy says:

      My classes are held in Scott, LA every other Tuesday @ 6 p.m. The next class is on Tuesday Feb. 7th @ 6 p.m.I also travel to do in home classes for a minimum # and $25 per person! Please call 337-224-1611 to register! I get the store polices from the official website of each store and then print them!

Leave a Reply

